Vecinos Guest Reviews

Reviews from past guests tell the story of their vacation rental experiences - staying with us at Vecinos over the years........

here are some of the latest....

FlipKey and TravelAdvisor reviews

These reviews from guests who found us on Real Adventures reviews

2012

Sophia + Chris spent their honeymoon with us in Feb /2012 and had this recap of their experience at Vecinos......

We've only been gone for a day and we are already "homesick" for Vecinos!

Yes, we would be more than happy to write a review for you, but I wanted to send you a personal thank you as well. We couldn't have asked for a better place to spend our honeymoon. Everything was absolutely perfect; the location, the rooms, the tour that Les took us on to La Cumbre (that was probably my favorite day--even stopping to get the brakes fixed!) La Boca on Sunday, the big fish that we bought and cooked! We were even talking about how we miss hearing the roosters in the morning, the loud music from across the street, and the cars that drive around with their loudspeakers blaring. We truly loved everything about our visit.

Lynda, we hope to be able to meet you next time. We loved looking at your artwork. Chris especially enjoyed it as he has quite a talent for that kind of thing as well.

Les, you really made our stay! Listening to your stories and music, and learning interesting facts about the country...that's what I liked best, I think. Learning about the culture and the everyday life is so interesting to me, so thank you for the new tidbits of knowledge. I really enjoyed the tour you took us on to see the family that lives in the middle of nowhere, and the drive through all the small Dominican towns. And, I have a new perspective on toothpaste.

So again, thank you, thank you, thank you...we can't say it enough and we hope the next time is sooner rather than later!

Sophia and Chris

2011


April 2011


Rating: 5/5
Guest: Julie&Ron from Hurley, New York
Date of Stays: April 8 and also returned Apr 21, 2011
Review Submitted: April 26, 2011

Great place, nice people, unique experience....don't miss Saturday morning (and early afternoon) market....German pastries by Christina & Lynda's carmel rolls (sticky buns).
This was our second visit and certainly not our last.

Recommended for: Age 55+, Pet owners, Families with young children
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Simon + Chantal and their 4 daughters from Montreal, spent 2 weeks with us in April 2011, and all had a great time! Here's their review and video (4:42min) they sent me when they got back home........


Guest: simointe (Canada)
Date of Stay: April 5, 2011
Review Submitted: April 21, 2011 - rating 4/5

We were there two weeks in April. Lynda and Les are very human persons, always helpful to answering a question or fix a little thing for us. The property is very pleasant, the trees and plants are beautiful. It is clean and charming. The beach the other side of the street is very beautiful and not crowded. The property is a little outside of Cabarete town, 3 or 4 kilometers away, but easy to reach my mini-bus by day. The night life of Cabarete is difficult to reach tough.

We definitely recommend this place.


YouTube Video Review from Simon + Chantal

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

March 2011


Jean + Sam rented our entire resort for a week in March for 18 of her best students, some doctors, nurses + a beautician from Manitoba.
They ate breakfasts and suppers here, and volunteered at an orphanage and school near-by during the day. It was an invaluable eye-opener for their tender sensibilities, and we saw them deeply moved by their interactions with the local kids. Here's Jean's review of their time with us......


Great Group location - rating of 5/5
Jean -- Apr 18, 2011 01:42 pm
We completed our second school trip to D.R. with a group of 28 high school students and parents.The stay at Vecinos was superb...great hospitality and service, great pool ,condos and bedrooms. Les and Lynda are great hosts...meals were excellent...Vecinos is clean,safe and secure...only a short walk to ocean...We will return in 2012 possibly with 2 groups...
Rates are the best we could find... thanks guys..see you soon


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


February 2011

A great stay at Vecinos, Cabarete for Chris and Cindy from Ottawa, Canada, who rated their stay 5/5
Date of Stay: February 28 - March 8/ 2011
Review Submitted: March 10, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay with Les and Linda, as fellow Canadians and owners of the property. They were very helpful in every way and Les entertained us with his singing and guitar one night. Linda said that she went into town to Janet's, the grocery store, by motorcycle, which also could be walked in 20 mins.

So the first day found Cindy and I returning from the store with two large bags of groceries, both of us on a motorcycle, with the driver. The price was right and a new adventure to tell our friends about.

They have provided really nice condos which are well furnished, clean and bright for our stay. The pool is great and a nice way to keep cool after a morning at the beach, which is about 200 yds away

The location, just East of Cabarete, is ideal, as it is quiet and away from the hubub of the main tourist area but close enough to easily go to the many restaurants any time of the day, or our favourite time Happy Hour.
We would recommend it to anyone.


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


January 2011

Guest: Marv + Christie with their 3 daughters, + Grandma Beth from Canada
Date of Stay: Jan 27 - February 5, 2011
Review Submitted: February 24, 2011
Rating: 5/5
Nice place to stay, would do it again.

We found Vecinos a great place to stay for my wife, myself, mother-in-law, and kids 6yrs, 4yrs, and 2yrs.

It is a bit of a way from the center of Cabarete and most people wouldn't walk the distance, but if you've stayed in Cabarete before you also know that there can be a lot of noise from the road. We had nice quiet nights at Vecinos with a beauitiful garden area and pool, and some pets including dogs, cats, turtles, geckos, frogs, and some young chicks to keep our kids entertained.

Getting to town was very easy and inexpensive. Most days we took the Gua Gua (a local mini van that will pick you up and drop you where ever you ask) This was a great experience for the kids and very cheap. $2.50 would get all 6 of us to the center of town.

There is also restaurant just across the street for those times when you didn't want to cook, or if you needed a late' on the beach in morning. It served good food and was reasonably priced for being right on the beach.
The kids particularly enjoyed Taco Tuesday.

The beach across the street was nice and is suitable for relaxing, walking, beach combing, etc., however the shore break made it unsuitable for swimming with the kids. The center to east end of the main beach at Cabarete is much more suitable for that.

I like to kiteboard, and it is a bit of a ways to kitebeach. Again, the Gua Gua was cheap and easy and so were the moto taxis. A normal private taxi was also easy to come by, but a bit more money.

One day I did see some kites in the air at the beach just across the road from Vecinos, so it is kiteable. The ocean appears to be quite turbulent there and there must be a reef or some sand bars that create lots of breakers, so I personally wouldn't try it without someone who knows the area.

At Vecinos we felt safe and secure. The rooms were clean and spacious and offered everything we needed. The Saturday Market was also something neat about this place. We swam in the pool everyday, even after we played in the ocean because the kids loved the pool!

Les and Lynda were always willing to help out, offer advice, or just chat. They are honest people who genuinely want you to have a good time. The other people we met at the condo were all friendly and appeared to be having a good time.
Sam the gardener was also very nice.
WE GOT WHAT WE EXPECTED AND MORE FOR THE PRICE.
Don't expect a "resort" atmosphere like you find at an all inclusive or at one of the ritzy condo developments on the beach and you will be happy at Vecinos!
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Guests: Francoise, Ghislaine + George from Laval, Quebec, Canada
Date of stay - Jan 6 - March 31 / 2011
Rating: 4/5 Review #1478395 - Three month winter rental

Vecinos is for us like an oasis. The condo is very nice, spacious, clean and modern; freshly painted, beautifully landscaped. We stayed for 3 months. After awhile we started to feel like a member of the family of Les and Lynda, the owners.

Every Saturday was "Market day" where we purchased delicious home made lasagna. pastries, etc. while meeting lots of tourists and Dominicans.

Of course, nothing is perfect. Kitchenware needs upgrading and a microwave oven would have been great. Supermarket is a bit far but walk-able. My husband did go to Janet's supermarket on foot and taxis are available for around 3$. Also, folding chairs and beach umbrella were missing. Luckily we had brought our own folding chairs to bring to the beach.

The sea is very rough close to Vecinos, but the beach is quiet and good for walking in both directions. The condos were very safe and secure. There is a wall that surrounds the property as well as a gate that is locked overnight. They also have three dogs for added security who are friendly to us but not to intruders.


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Guests: Grace + Barry with son Stephen + his fiancee Amy
Date of stay: Jan 1 - 8/2011
from grace s*** to me - rec'd Jan 12

We had a wonderful time!! The weather couldn't have been better. We came home to 10 below zero! Thank you for being so gracious and lending us odds and ends. The kids had so much fun cooking for us Dominican style. Our vacation was everything we had hoped it would be.
Barry and Grace
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2010


December 2010

Guest: Dave from Huntsville Ontario
Date of Stay: December 14, 2010 - Jan 27/2011
Review Submitted: January 27, 2011
Rating: 5/5

Les + Lynda have an extremely are extremely outgoing and pleasant in nature with quality help like Janet and Sam. They have a top quality condo - small, but top quality - very clean rooms. Gardens are very nice, along with the pool. Their Saturday Market is very interesting as it makes it a touch of Canada and a touch of the DR. Ocean + beach are a very rewarding sight, with miles and miles of sandy beaches.
I have spent 6 wonderful weeks and I shall return.


October 2010

Hola Linda and Les,

Thanks for this kind message. Indeed we had such a good time at that nice place of yours, at Vecinos. Armelle and I will not forget waking up in the morning and having that superb view from the apartment.

Les was really great and he did everything to make out stay as comfortable as possible. I wish we had stayed much longer and Cabarette is high in our minds.

We continued our Journey to Las Terrenas and then to Bayahibe. We think that we do know half of Domenican Gua Gua drivers...

If it wasn't for some health problems we had with kids which we could hopefully deal with properly, our first adventure to the RepDom was a very exciting one.

Best regards,

Ferit
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


August 2010

from olga****@gmail.com to me

Thanks so much Mr. and Mrs. Lehman!! My friends and I have a GREAT time at Vecinos.

Hopefully mill meet again. Bye bye!!


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


January 2010

Thank you very much for such a warm welcome and stay at your condo. We really enjoyed ourselves there and would definitely come back and recommend it to others heading that direction. Thanks also for that ice fishing email. I can't believe someone would actually do that. Trust me... your pool was NOT as cold as that!

Thanks again! You are both very wonderful people!

Take care,

Kathy (from Edmonton, Alta Canada)
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2009


December 2009

5/5 rating as the Perfect getaway GeneW Bronx, NY, USA Review Submitted: January 6, 2010 Date of Stay: December 2009

The property is very well maintained, and ideal for independent travelers. I came to Villa Vecinos with my wife and children, and the owners went an extra mile to accommodate our needs.

Lynda and Les provided us with all necessary info about the environment, and gave a lot of insider's tips on traveling around. The place is serene and very relaxing, rooms are clean and spacious beyond expectations. We enjoyed many walks on the beach and around Cabarete (it takes only 20 minutes to get there on foot, or 5 min in a cab). The beach is virtually across the road, with very decent bar and restaurant nearby.

Since there are only 4 units in the villa, you hardly feel presence of other guests and can quietly relax at the big pool, which is very clean and refreshing. The kitchen is well equipped and fully functional; groceries may be easily purchased in Cabarete and fruits (amazingly tasty!) from street vendors.

We would be happy to come there again, and recommend Vecinos to all our friends. Recommended for: Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Denis + Kye from Alberta had this to say about their Dec/09 stay......

12/12/09

Well we made it home but the welcoming hasn't been to pleasant. I've been outside everyday shoveling snow so I am slowly adapting but do miss the sun, surf, and sand of Cabarete. Will have to do it again!

Thanks again for everything from Kye, Danny, and myself. We really enjoyed getting to know you both, thanks for your help and insights, and our stay at Vecinos was fantastic. Have a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year. Adios,Denis
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Denis's brother Dan sent us this feedback.....12/29/09

Hi Les and Lynda,I e-mailed you at Xmas, but for some reason it did not go through. It was freezing cold when I got back, something like -38. I hope you two had a great Christmas. Why I had e-mailed before was to thank you for the great hospitality you showed Denis and myself. I do not think our stay would have been the the same if we would have stayed anywhere else. I do not think any place else would have provided us with the " sticks in the bottle drink" (I could not remember how to spell mamma juana, Les?)or made sure that we were home safe, Lynda. Thanks for the the extended ride to the airport Les, it was truly an another extra for the trip. Thanks again for the great time. I hope you have a great new year and that all your dreams come true.Thanks Dan


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


November 2009
Beth + Dan from Indiana who stayed here in November had this to say.....

Vecinos was a great place to stay on our vacation. I immediately felt comfortable when I met Les and Lynda, who were wonderful travel guides, and the dogs, who provided extra security! We loved our condo - it was beautiful and exceeded our expectations. The location is also great, as Vecinos is relatively secluded but still close to town.

During our week in the Dominican Republic we enjoyed a jazz festival, snorkeling, shopping, amazing seafood, a beach party and a motorcycle drive through the mountains.

Les and Lynda were great in sharing the best places to go. The beach is just a short walk across the street, and it's amazingly secluded and stunningly beautiful. We definitely appreciated being oceanfront on those 90 degree days! We really enjoyed our trip to the Dominican Republic and we hope to return and stay at Vecinos! Dan & Beth, November 2009


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

October 2009

Danny + Richard from Florida came to stay in Oct 2009 and later sent me this article Danny wrote.....

A vacation to remember and enjoy – Cabarete, Dominican Republic

Less than two hours from Miami, you land at Puerto Plata on the north coast of the country along the Atlantic Ocean. You can take a taxi, public bus, or motor scooter (pick one of the first two - not a lot of room for luggage on a motor scooter) and 20 minutes later you arrive in the funky, relaxed and fun town of Cabarete. It is known as the windsurfing capital of the Dominican Republic. Every morning you will see countless sails in the air with amateur and professional surfers and sailors in the water of this touristy beach town. The best part of this destination is you can do as little or as much as you like to do – we did a lot.

Side trips both near and far can be done with local travel agents on your own with a good guide book (FODORS or FROMMERS). We went on an organized tour to a fishing village and then a short boat ride to a pristine island surrounded by a coral reef called Punta Rusia. The water was like an aquarium – clear and blue. If you put a small piece of banana in the water, hundreds of tropical fish appear to gobble it up.

One day we took a Greyhound-type bus to Santo Domingo which was approximately a four hour ride in air-conditioned comfort (bring a sweater). We explored the old part of town with the aid of a local government approved guide. We saw the major historical parts of the city, walked through the parks and plazas, and had a nice meal at an outdoor café. We also visited a museum (Museo del Real Art) which had nice displays and live peacocks strolling the grounds. A rural town, Gaspar Hernandes, shows the Dominican Republic at its simplest a few miles away at Rancho Montana. My guide and I were riding horses in the mountains along and over shallow rivers and creeks, stopping to eat fruit off the trees and then finally tying the horses to let them rest a bit while we went for a refreshing swim. That was an enjoyable way to spend the afternoon.

We also went to Cabarete Cave State Park on our last day exploring the caves with stalactites and stalagmites all encircled by tropical fruit trees and medicinal plants and bushes. The tour lasted two hours and our guide, a university student, made it both educational and interesting. Including tip, it cost us $50.00 for two people.

I forgot to mention the Amber Museum (very interesting) and a weekly “pulga” (Saturday Market at Vecinos) that we went to as well.

Our accommodations at Vecinos were beautiful. We stayed in a two story condo – two bedrooms, two baths with a terrace overlooking a pool. It was across the street from the beach and cost $75.00 per night. Yes, it had air conditioning, a full kitchen, and even a welcome basket with snacks and beer in the fridge (Presidente beer – it is very good). Across the street was a luxury condo on the beach where there was a very reasonable restaurant and our favorite place to go to for breakfast or late afternoon cocktails. The food in the Dominican Republic is simple but tasty – lots of rice, beans and plantains with either fish, shrimp, pork, or chicken. Refreshing drinks not to miss are coconut water and my favorite, “chinola” – passion fruit juice.

The people are friendly and helpful and you feel like you are far away from home. Consider the Dominican Republic for your next trip. Submitted by Danny N., Egret Cove, Florida


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


July 2009
Reviewer NickName: yoly

Date of Arrival : Jul 3, 2009

Name on Contract : yolanda l.

Review Rating : 5/5

Review Title : 266900 - "Week-end vacation"

"Our stay at Vecinos could not have been more relaxing. Les and Lynda were so helpful and had a lot of good advise as to where to eat, places to go and general town information. This is great for surfers and the nite life at the beach with all the wonderful food and drink is fantastic. They allowed us to take our Yorkie dog (who was given to us-he was somewhat abused) they were very understanding and their 2 dogs were just wonderful. Really am looking forward to staying again. If you want to experience the REAL LOCAL ATMOSPHERE, this is the place to go. Very roomy, clean and really just perfect for us."
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


May 2009

From Loredana Santini - stayed May 8 - 17/09

a chi è incerto dove alloggiare a cabarete consiglio:VECINOS. noi abbiamo alloggiato li e siamo stati benissimo,i proprietari sonodue persone stupendesono di origine del canada,posso dire che mi sentivo a mio agio in tutto,ungiardino stupendo,la casa bellissima e tranquilla,riposante per chi ha bisogno di rilassarsi l'unico rumore,il piccolo ruscelloche serpeggia nel giardino,una stupenda piscina.a circa tre km.dal paese,raggiungibile anche a piedi. un ottimo guardiano chesorveglia giorno e notte.per ulteriori informazioni,sito web.VECINOS CABARETE. aggiungo la mia mailper chiarimenti migliori.santini.******@libero.it.provate e mi ringrazierete.


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


April 2009
In March / April + May we had Simone from Italy come to kiteboard with his friends and return several times. He sent us these comments:

Testimonial date 07/04/2009 from Mr. Simone F. (Member 3403480) Accommodation 5/5 Amenities 5/5 Surroundings 5/5 Overall 5/5

Remarks - "gli appartamenti sono molto ben arredati e ben puliti, la proprietaria offre un servizio ottimo inun contesto molto familiare, si fa presto ad abituarsi ed è comesentirsi a casa. Non ci sono rumori tranne i piacevoli canti delle famiglie de locali che vivono intorno. Gli appartamenti sono immersi in un incantevole giardino tropicale."

Would you recommend this self catering rental to a friend ? Yes Would you return to Vecinos for your next holiday rental? Yes
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

March 2009

Mar 04, 2009 5:20 rating 5 out of 5

Vecinos -a clean and secure and safe place to stay The hosts Les and Lynda are extremely helpful giving freely of their time to take us around or show you where to go and a big thanks for the driving tips a must if you hire a car .Caberete is approx 1 minute in a car or motor bike and has numerous restaurants so eating out no problem also several supermarkets in Caberete.

highly recommended

Gay, David + Joyce.co.uk
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

February 2009
Mar 06, 2009 8:55 rating 5 out of 5

Vecinos - Is a great place to stay, clean, well equipped and safe. Lynda and Les make you feel most welcome and give you all the help and information you could wish for. Only a short walk to the wonderful beach, Cabarete has plenty of restaurants and food shops.

Definitely recommend Vecinos.

Gabrielle*******@.co.uk
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


January 2009
Jenny from England who came to visit in January, 2009 rated us 5 out of 5, and had this to say......

Vecinos is a lovely clean quiet place to stay and chill out for your holiday.The apartments are beautiful with everything you need right down to a bottle opener! The owners are very laid back and it is a safe place to stay!The centre of town is 5 mins on a bike and the sun shines all day when it is out!It is a lovely place to stay and very competitively priced compared to others! I will definitely stay there again!

jenny*****@ntlworld.com
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Peter K. from Washington,D,C, (well, originally from Ghana) who stayed with us in January, wrote:

Apr 03, 2009 10:20 - rating 5 out of 5

Home away from Home - Les and Lynda are the greatest. I took care of everything for me. The place is very, very clean. If you want to mingle with the locals and not be confined within a resort, this is the place to be. I really enjoyed myself. I am planning on going back real soon. Thank you Lynda and Les. See you soon.

Peter***@gmail.com
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~



Return from Reviews back to Vacation Rentals